Dec 21 – Two gifts that transformed my view on Lean


In the last four years there are two clear pivot points for my view on Lean. The first major pivot point that really transformed how I look at Lean and especially the tools and methods of Lean is Mike Rothers book Toyota Kata.


Even if you don’t want to learn all the detail about how the Improvement Kata and Coaching Kata (I do highly recommend you do, but if) then you should at least read the first 6 chapters. Reading these chapters tuned many of my previous view on end. For me this reframed so many things about Lean. My new frame is to look at most of the Lean tools and methods as primary learning tools. This book also reinforced the view of leaders/managers as foremost be coaches and teaches. The base assumption of a leader is a coaching stance.

The second book is This is Lean by Niklas Modig and Pär Åhströms. This book gave me model to describe Lean in a way business people can really relate to. The model of Resource Efficiency and Flow Efficiency is very simple but yet powerful model that people understand.


I have many posts on both topics. Check out the links below.

Here you can find some other recommendations for great books related to Lean and Agile.

This is my Lean/Agile Advent Calendar. I will publish a short post on a Lean/Agile topic every day up until Christmas. I will based each days topic on what is behind the door in the LEGO® City Advent Calendar.  So be sure to check back every day!

DISCLAIMER: LEGO® is a trademark of the LEGO Group, which does not sponsor, authorize or endorse this post and blog in any way.

Leave a Reply

