My way to see the light about Lean

Technorati-taggar: ,,

Two to three years ago I started my knowledge journey in the area of Lean. I had at that time been into Agile in general and Scrum in particular for some time and was wondering what all this talk about Lean was and how it was related to Agile. In this post I will not try to explain my opinion about this but I will give you the main outline how I started my journey thru a list of books that I recommend.

My Lean booklist in my reading order:

  1. Implementing Lean Software Development: From Concept to Cash by Mary Poppendieck , Tom Poppendieck
  2. The Toyota Way by Jeffrey Liker
  3. Lean Thinking: Banish Waste and Create Wealth in Your Corporation by James P. Womack and Daniel T. Jones
  4. Lean Solutions: How Companies and Customers Can Create Value and Wealth Together by James P. Womack and Daniel T. Jones
  5. Going Lean: How the Best Companies Apply Lean Manufacturing Principles by Stephen A. Ruffa
  6. Scaling Lean & Agile Development: Thinking and Organizational Tools for Large-Scale Scrum by Craig Larman, Bas Vodde

If you havn’t read these yet my recommended order is: 2, 6, 1, 3 5. Lean Solutions is optional in my opinion.

I have three more books that I’m about to read in the comming month:

  1. Extreme Toyota: Radical Contradictions That Drive Success at the World’s Best Manufacturer by Emi Osono, Norihiko Shimizu, Hirotaka Takeuchi
  2. Beyond the Goal: Theory of Constraints by Eliyahu M. Goldratt

Note:The reason why The Goal: A Process of Ongoing Improvement by Eliyahu M. Goldratt and Jeff Cox is not up there is because it is not for sale thru in Sweden, DRM stuff stinks. I will try to get it on audio and if not possible dead trees will too.

Anything you like to add?

2 thoughts on “My way to see the light about Lean

  1. mostofa 2010-10-07 / 22:46

    Hej !

    One of the first books I have read is “Agile and XP from the trenches” by Henry Kniberg which is a fantastic book in my opinion.

    I have also read “Agile Product Management with Scrum” by Roman Pichler which is another must read as well.

    Of course being a tester I recommend “Agile testing” by Lisa Crispin as this is a fantastic book .

    But I also read lots of blogs as well on testing mainly though and I subscribe to Agile Record and Testing Experience magazines.

    Another great magazine is The Testing Planet and a must read for everyone .

  2. mostofa 2010-10-07 / 23:08

    Oh and I have the “Agile Retrospectives” by Esther Derby book but have not yet found the time to read it yet.

Leave a Reply

